Each spring, Elizabethtown College honors the outstanding efforts of its students by offering awards across various areas of campus. Awards categories include Campus Recreation and Well-being, Community Living, the Center for Civic and Community Engagement, the Chaplain’s Office, the Office of Diversity, Inclusion & Title IX, Office of Student Activities as well as overall Distinguished Student Awards and the Points of Distinction Award, the highest Student Life honor a student can receive at Etown.

Distinguished Student Awards are given to two students from each class year who have shown the effective integration of the four signature learning attributes at Elizabethtown; relationship-centered learning, international and cross-cultural perspectives, real-world learning, and purposeful life work. Out of these winners, the Point of Distinction Scholar Award is given to the student believed to have shown this integration to the highest degree. Students are nominated for these awards through faculty, staff, and/or students and then must submit an application that includes an essay focusing on a key learning experience from their time at Etown.


2020-21 Points of Distinction Award

The College has announced the winner of the 2020-21 Points of Distinction Award is senior Biology and Religious Studies double major, Emily Sechrist. In addition to her excellent academic standing, Sechrist serves as a Student Tutor at the Learning Zone, a member of the Biology Honor Society – TriBeta, and a member of the Religious Studies Honor Society – Theta Alpa Kappa. She is also the Founder of FUEL, a mental health group for students at Etown. Sechrist started the organization in 2019 to help other students who were struggling with their wellbeing as they navigate the difficulties of collegiate academics. Through the new organization, Sechrist has been able to provide activities for students to relax, connect with others, and ‘fuel up’ for the week ahead.

“I have had the most meaningful opportunity to apply my religious studies education by engaging with students from many different backgrounds in an empathetic manner and with true understanding at FUEL,” said Sechrist. “I am so grateful to have received the 2020-21 Points of Distinction Award. I want to thank the entire Elizabethtown community, including all my peers and professors who have been vital to my personal development and growth during my past four years at Etown.”


2020-21 Distinguished Student Awards

  • Veronica Ruiz, Biology ’21
  • Ryan Strohl, Individualized Major for Higher Ed Student Affairs ’21
  • Natalie Blanton, Music Education ’22
  • Celeste Workman, Biology ’22
  • Laura Cardona, International Business & Political Science ’23
  • Andrew Furman, Political Science ’23
  • Miriam Englehardt, Occupational Therapy ’24
  • Faith Morrow, Journalism ’24


2020-21 Campus Recreation and Wellbeing Awards

The Campus Recreation and Wellbeing awards honor students who go above and beyond in their work at Etown’s Bowers Center for Sports, Fitness, and Well-Being. The awards are broken out by department.

This year’s Overall RecWell Team Member of the Year is Brinley Schmidt, Occupational Therapy ’21, who serves as a Fitness Coordinator at the Bowers Center. Her nomination noted her outstanding work in keeping the Bowers Center a clean and safe place while also communicating new COVID-19 protocols to her peers.

  • Group Fitness Instructor of the Year: Bri Yukanis, Occupational Therapy ’21
  • Intramural Staff Member of the Year: Jordan Sobolesky, Occupational Therapy ’21
  • SWAG of the Year: Ilaynna Brown, Special Education ’21
  • Fitness Center Attendant of the Year: Morgan Gibau, Occupational Therapy ’22


2020-21 Community Living Awards

Community Living Awards are given to honor the students who make an impact in their residential community and with their peers. These awards are reviewed by the Community Living staff and include the Community Living Legacy Award for the student who best demonstrates the service, vision, and dedication that has made a lasting impact in their residential community as well as a Returner of Year and the Rookie of the Year.

The 2020-21 Community Living Legacy Award winner is Meghan Matje, Masters in Occupational Therapy ’21. Matje has served as a Residence Assistant for the past three years and has exceeded the expectations of the Community Living team each of those three years.

  • Community Living Returner of the Year: Celeste Workman, Biology ’22
  • Community Living Rookie of the Year: Joey Thomas, Mechanical Engineering ’23


2020-21 Center for Community and Civic Engagement Awards

Etown’s Center for Community and Civic Engagement (CCCE) gives awards to a student and a student organization who demonstrate a commitment to benefiting the lives of others and a commitment to the College’s Motto of ‘Educate for Service.’ These awards are selected by the College’s CCCE staff.

  • CCCE Outstanding Student: Sarah White, Social Work ’21
  • CCCE Outstanding Student: Sophia Strock, Occupational Therapy ’21
  • CCCE Outstanding Student: Makensie Kilby, Environmental Science and Legal Studies ’21
  • CCCE Group Award: Student-Athlete Advisory Council


2020-21 Office of the Chaplain Awards

The Office of the Chaplain Awards are given to students, faculty, and staff who show an outstanding commitment to their faith and to the service of others through it. These awards are reviewed and selected by Etown’s Chaplains Office staff.

  • Bucher Endowed Award: Emily Barber, Public Relations ’21
  • Bucher Endowed Award: Matt Smith, History and Middle Eastern Studies ’21
  • Curry Endowed Award: Cassidy Dunn, Business Data Science ’22
  • Curry Endowed Award: Erin Vago, Theatre Performance and Technology ’22


2020-21 Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Title IX Awards

The Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Title IX has created the inaugural Ubuntu Awards which are given to a student and a student organization who exemplify the importance of working with others, advocating for solutions, and being a valuable asset to our campus. The term Ubuntu translates to mean “I am because we are.”

  • Ubuntu Individual Award: Celeste Workman, Biology ’22
  • Ubuntu Team Award: Etown Hillel


2020-21 Office of Student Activities Awards

Etown’s Office of Student Activities (OSA) annually awards several students for their work in providing a robust student experience. OSA awards include the Omnia Award which identifies the most well-rounded student who is “good in all things.”

This year’s Omnia Award winner is Celeste Workman, a junior Biology student. Workman earned her award based on her exceptional involvement as a Resident Assistant as well as her efforts in starting the Women in STEM club at Etown this year. Workman was also acknowledged for her role in contributing to the weekly Ujima Dialogue series.

  • OSA Leadership Award: Shannon Kerwin, Early Childhood Education & Special Education ’21
  • OSA Leader on the Horizon Award: Emily Smith, Spanish Education ’23
  • OSA Outstanding Student Programmer: Veronica Ruiz, Biology ’21
  • OSA Outstanding Student Group: Engineers for a Sustainable World
  • OSA Outstanding Student Group: Alpha Mu
  • OSA Advisor of the Year: Jane Cavender, Professor of Biology and College Against Cancer Advisor


Follow along throughout the week of April 5, 2021 as we highlight these individuals on the College’s Instagram page.